Finding the balance

Illya USA 046

As one can easily see from the dating of this and the next most recent post, I’ve been taking a break from personal blogging. It’s been a chance to step back and reflect on how I spend my time and how much is dedicated to may family, as well as what kind of role model I am to my kids when I am at home. So instead of following this or that discussion or exploring the newest applications in social networking, I’ve been playing with my kids, discussing school, watch the telly with them and ksyping with my far-away son.

It’s also given me a chance to miss certain people, tools, discussions and mental challenges I had previously filled a lot of my time with. So now I’m slowly entering back into the social network of nings, twitter, blogs etc.

Interestingly enough, one of the first blog posts to hit my screen was Angela Maiers‘ post ‘Drowning in Social Media‘ (incedently picked up in twitter).

Angela presents a system called BREATHE which should help people regain footage, with its main rule in 3s: commit yourself to three friends, three tools, three actions.

This has given me food for thought, though I’m certainly not going to blindly follow her suggestions. Instead I’m going to take small steps back while trying to keep to a couple of other ground rules.

Sorry, I have no sexy acronym for what I plan on doing, but one idea is certainly taken from a site whose link is long lost to me.

Rule one: only check your e-mails 2 times a day.
This I find a real tough one, and in the original version you are only to check once a day. I’ll try for once in the morning and once in the evening – and immediately take care of any mails you have at this time, answering, deleting or filing away for future reference to the appropriate spot.

Rule 2: Work before play – no twitter, no nings, no distractions before the work has been done.

Rule 3: be selective. Now this really does go to where Angela is at. How many blogs can I really follow? Do I really care about the content/writer on them? Which groups am I truly profiting from or contributing to? Why am I in the group? How can I maintain quality?

Rule 4: set aside time to reflect and contribute – NOT when the family is around. When the family is around, I can’t concentrate and won’t contribute. I also don’t want them to only see me on the computer. I want them to close the laptop when they are talking to me, and I should give them the same respect.

Now that I’ve actually put done the rules, I do hope they will be easier to follow and that I can find my own balance between two worlds.

It’s good to be back!

3 Responses

  1. Hi Illya! A serendipity led me to your blog today. The theme of this post is the same as the one we explored at WiAOC last weekend in the conversation I hosted entitled “Striking a Balance.” Participants filled out a survey and for an hour, we vented together and brainstormed for solutions to the chronic problem of only having 24 hours in a day when we want to do so much! I am still collecting survey responses, so if you haven’t already filled it out, I hope you will. Also see my page at the WiAOC Ning. I will be posting a summary of results in a few weeks there and at evonline2002_webheads.
    Survey: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=HMUoI1HHSh3xnsA9cKcR9Q_3d_3d
    My page at the Ning: http://webheadsinaction.ning.com/profile/NinaLiakos

  2. Hi Nina
    I’m so glad to see your response and know that I am not alone with the problem. I’ve already completed the survey and am looking forward to the results.
    Have you posted anywhere what you brainstormed and vented?

  3. Hi Illya

    First time that I’ve logged in to my Bloglines account for months because of all the stuff that you mention – both from the checking and being on top of things (and started using GoogleReader as well so that confuses life) and doing family stuff.

    Balance is exactly right, but for me it is about how many balls I can sustain in the air at once. I liked your rules – a great reminder!!

Leave a Reply

