Facilitating online communities

I’ve just started a new course called Facilitating online communities through wikieducator and so this blog will be mainly dedicated to reflecting on this course over the next couple of months.

I’ve been a part of an extremely nurturing online community, one filled with role models, many probably out of intuition rather than theory. So I do believe that some may have a certain talent for it, just as some have a talent for teaching, coaching etc.

But why did I choose this course? Well, while co-moderating one of the course at EVO 08, I realized that I felt a bit insecure in this role and at the same time intrigued by what happened in the group. I want to expand my background knowledge of how to do this as well as gain experience. In the future I can also imagine using online communities for my teaching setting and other settings, and to become more confident in this process.

Another reason for wanting to join is out of curiousity and the drive in me to go forward in an erea that I find fascinating.

Now I am looking forward to growing and seeing where this new journey will take me.

8 Responses

  1. Hi Illya,

    Nice to meet you first of all. I’m quite excited about this course as well – though admittedly I’m nervous about the facilitation elements.

    HIstorically I’ve played a largely support/behind-the-scenes role. So I definitely see places where my present experiences will be stretched into areas where it doesn’t currently exist. This is one of the reasons for my taking this course as well – to build more of an educational foundation.

    I think Leigh’s doing a fantastic job in making everyone feel welcome and comfortable, which is a testomiony to his expertise and dedication I think. He’s a great role model in his own right in that respect.

    I’m really loving the community that’s sprung up around the course too. If we can maintain the enthusiasm I think we’re in for a brilliant course.

    Cheers,

    Mike

  2. Hi Illya,
    While I was reading your post where you state your reasons for taking this course, I identified myself there. Especially your last reason is so true for me, too. There is a drive in me in learning everything about this area that I find fascinating.
    I’m also enjoying the group that is attending this course. There seem to be so many interesting and savvy people who have a lot to share with all of us. Another thing that I find fascinating is that there is someone who is willing to give so much to so many and share his expertise. Thank you very much, Leigh.

  3. Kia ora Illya!

    I will be absorbingly interested in your posts and reports as you unroll them. Working with online learning communities has been a study that I’ve looked at several times over the years in this century. It is a fascinating discipline. Good luck with your course!

    Ka kite
    from Middle-earth

  4. Hello Illya!

    I am trying to get through everyone’s blogs and leaving a little note. I am excited about this online experience as well. I sure that we will get out of the course what we put into it. I believe that we are on the right path right now in establishing an online community. Looking forward in hearing more from you online!

    -Malik

  5. I’ve been a part of an extremely nurturing online community, one filled with role models, many probably out of intuition rather than theory. So I do believe that some may have a certain talent for it, just as some have a talent for teaching, coaching etc.

    Hi Illya!

    You are pointing to something really interesting here, are facilitators (as leaders) made or born?
    And is the failitator the leader or role model of the community?

  6. Hi Violet
    What a relevant question you ask! It really has got me thinking.

    I think Leigh is a good role model, and he has done some leading, and will continue to do some I’m sure during the rest of hte course, but is he not also our role model, especially to those of us with little experience as facilitators? Perhaps we need to spend a bit more time watching Leigh as the course progresses and relecting on what he is doing.

    Now I’m off to see if you’ve written about this in your blog🙂

  7. Yikes! you guys make me nervous! Watch me as some kind of role model? hmm I dunno. I honestly think there are way better facilitators than me just in the names of comments here! The think I have done differently is risk using the Internet natively instead of something like an LMS or single environment – oh and the open access of course. As you guys state, I have a fare bit resting on my shoulders hey🙂 will do my best, but I’m sure you will learn more from my mistakes than what I do right!

  8. Hey Leigh,
    No need to be so modest! You’re doing a fantastic job!

Leave a Reply

