It’s been an interesting week for blogging. There are two separate things going on (sometimes the vocabulary for these ‘things’ just really fails me :-P) . One is the comment challenge, which is generating a lot of communication and connections. I declined to join the challenge seeing as how I was quite busy. However, I’ve been following it loosely to get an idea of what is going on and how I myself can improve.

The other is the meme game, which has been making the rounds again. As I was tagged for the second time (see below) and had a bit of time on my hands, I joined in. The two together make for some pretty cool happenings in the blogosphere.

This has generated quite a bit of discussion, as you can imagine. One that I’ve seen was on Carla’s blog, about the contacts we build and the friends we make in the virtual world. Kevin questioned the stress that Carla had put into this statement, but I have to agree with Carla. I am busy making friends out there in the virtual world, but I wouldn’t call them virtual friends, as we share at least as much of our time, feelings and hobbies as I do with people who live close by (but tend to be much to busy to actually meet).

It has reestablished contacts. People I hadn’t been in touch with in a while were suddenly there, commenting on my blog, and at the same time I was was checking out what they had been blogging about and meaving comments. Kevin said it aptly in his blog:

I found it interesting that as you move outward, some familiar names can still be found. It’s both a large place and a small place, isn’t it?

That’s exactly the feeling I get when I run into a name I know, be it in flickr, a blog post, a comment or anywhere else. Sometimes it’s even a personal e-mail saying hello. Now that makes for warm feelings inside:-) The familiar face in the crowd is turning into a regular experience that keeps me coming back for more.

Now I’ve found yet another tool on the internet showing just how connected we are (thanks to Gladys!)

Yes, Kevin, you are so right. The world seems larger and smaller at the same time.

4 Responses

  1. Hi Illya,
    I agree with you that the people we come into contact with through online and through blogging can become dear friends! It seems a good time to thank you again for the beautiful cherry blossom photo and birthday greetings! I have been enjoying following the meme and the comment challenge while learning more with you all! See you around🙂

  2. Kia Ora Illya.

    I just dropped in to say hello. You have some interesting things on your site. And as Kevin says the space is “both a large place and a small place”. Kevin is a ‘familiar face in the crowd’.

    I will be back soon.

    Ka kite
    from Middle-earth

  3. Dear Illya,

    Great to reconnect and see you back to action! These memes and the comment challenge have certainly strengthened the close bonds I have with friends around the globe that really matter.

  4. Illya, delighted but amazed to see you back so substantially.
    A problem I increasingly find is keeping up with all the lists (and lists are people) that I am involved with. We’ll remian in touch, though – never fear.

    All of me i.e. Dennis, Osnacantab, Denos

Leave a Reply

