Accountability in teaching with technology

I was just reflecting on Ann’s comment on my last post about using the internet with children and it came ot me that about a year ago there was an incident. A primary school teacher had her kids go to the computer and there were sexually explicit pictures on the screen. The kids went home and told their parents, of course. The result was that this teacher, sho was in no way to blame (it was the school filter, I believe) was accused of wrong-doing, and if I remember correctly, taken to court. I lost the thread, so I don’t know the outcome, but I was pretty taken by the events.

If anyone remembers or can find the link, please leave a comment.

2 Responses

  1. I am not familiar with the story, but I know that in my district, students and parents are required to sign an acceptable use agreement before students can use school district computers. The agreement basically protects educators if a student goes to an inappropriate site from any legal ramifications. I think this is pretty standard in schools in the U.S. Also many sites are blocked in my district which is both a blessing and a curse. You can’t get to many wiki spaces or things like youtube. But I think it’s better that we have the filter. So the I guess the question is how do you get kids to be responsible in their work on the web

  2. I can’t believe that teacher was taken to court! This could have happened at home, with the parents supervising the child as well!!!! Too bad , but I guess nobody can be saved from incidents like those!

Leave a Reply

